Words of Wisdom

One quote above all others that I really love and inspires me to be the best me, is a quote by Jennifer Morrison. She said that “You can’t be brave unless you’re afraid” This wisdom is especially valuable to me for many reasons. I know that many people deal with anxieties about doing things, going places and meeting new people; this quote helps me to push myself to do those things that make me afraid. It makes me happy because it means that by my already being afraid, I have the opportunity to be brave. And Jennifer Morrison has made me realize that I can be brave because I am afraid. It reminds me of another quote from Doctor Who, “Courage isn’t a matter of not being frightened, you know, It’s being afraid and doing what you have to do anyway.” This is so important to me because the first step to being the best version of myself is just to be brave. Jennifer Morrison’s character, Emma Swan, on Once upon a Time is my all-time favorite person because she is so strong and brave, even when she tears down her walls. Doing that is scary for anyone but you must have the strength to face your fears and let down your walls to be vulnerable. And being vulnerable does not mean that you are weak. “Softness is not weakness. It takes courage to stay delicate in a world this cruel”-Beau Taplin. I know that people can be pushed around, hurt and afraid sometimes, but you mustn’t let the world harden you. If you let the world bully you and change you, you have let the world win and are letting the world diminish that amazing light inside you. It may be easier to give up sometimes but if “you can’t be brave unless you’re afraid”, then at your lowest point, you’ve got plenty of strength to be brave and face your fears to be the best you, that you can be. Thank you Ms. Morrison for showing me that I can be brave!

Leave a Reply

