Expression Using Words- The Hidden Truth

An allegory is a message in a bottle tossed in the ocean. It’s something hidden in plain sight. The artist wishes to convey this message but with subtlety. They want you to look for it. The message is hidden as a symbol, some figure or action. The message once uncovered is supposed to express something spiritual or moral. It’s supposed to tell a story for the person viewing the piece.

The story… a piece of imagination that comes from the human mind, a mastery and comprehension of words, used in such ways that tells a tale. The purpose of a story may not always seem clear, however, its intent, the authors hope, is that it teaches the world something that it should already know. An obstacle may hinder someone’s path however, and the reader may not fully grasp the truth that is hidden beneath. André Gide expressed that “Everything that needs to be said has already been said. But since no one was listening, everything must be said again.” This is why stories are so prevalent in our lives, to teach us, to force us to grow and understand the truth. This is what I wish to do for people, I wish to be a guide for weary travelers who are wandering in the desert, blinded by the sand, thirsty for something to drink. I want to be the one who helps them discover what they already know, yet do not pay attention to, the truth. The truth is free, if one only looks for it.

Today I went to someone whom I really admire and respect, someone who has helped me in the past to help me discover what path I should travel down. For many years, I have been trying to discover what I am meant to do, what I am meant to be. Recently, as per this blog, I have been trying to discover if writing is the destiny which God has chosen for me, today I went to someone to give me guidance on the matter. I was stunned to see that he seemed as excited as I was at the prospect of writing being in my future. As always, I was enthralled with the words of wisdom he shared with me, and his advice was to share what wisdom I had with others. In a time where truth is available, yet difficult to find if you’re not looking for it, he suggested it would be a good idea to share my experiences, my ways of thinking, and my truths that God has been adequate to let me see and share with you. It’s not that I can see what others can’t however, as Albus Dumbledore said in Harry Potter, true “Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.” All I want to do is turn on the light for those who think they don’t need it.

Spending that time communing on the prospect of becoming a writer has only deepened my resolve. If it is meant to be, it will be; I will do all I can to make it possible and the rest is in God’s hands. It was absolutely more than a coincidence however then to hear, once getting in my car to go home, a song called The Words I Would Say, by Sidewalk Prophets. The song was about someone picking up a pen and paper to write something profound, simple truths that he could share with someone he cared about. It also said “Be strong in the Lord and never give up hope.You’re gonna do great things, I already know. God’s got his hand on you so don’t live life in fear,forgive and forget but don’t forget why you’re here. Take your time and pray These are the words I would say.” I just know that that was a message to me saying you’re on the right path.

I believe writing is something I was meant to do, for who I am on paper is who I really am. 2 Corinthians 10:9-11 says, “What we write down when away, we do when present. We’re the exact same people, absent or present, in letter or in person.” Perhaps striving to become a better writer, I will become the strong courageous person I was meant to be, the person I can be when I’m sitting alone behind my computer. My desire is to help people see what I see and then for them to know the truths of this world, the truths which stories have been teaching all this time. Doctor Watson (from Sherlock Holmes) once said (because he fully realized the mystery when Sherlock explained it to him), “when the facts slowly evolve before your eyes, and the mystery clears gradually away as each new discovery furnishes a step which leads onto the complete truth”, that is what I want to do. I want to kick down the barriers that hold us back, like Sherlock once said, “It is just these very simple things which are extremely liable to be overlooked.” My purpose is to look further, deeper into the very depths of the human condition and discover the truths behind the mysteries which baffle us, or we don’t even bother to look for. My purpose is to discover the hidden truths and share it.

Leave a Reply

