Scribble Truth Words

This was my application essay to a university which I just received word that I have been accepted to! 

To share my story, words must be permanently written down for clarity’s sake, for words are the foundation of truth and truth is what I wish to express. Sometimes truth can be hidden in plain sight and one may not truly see it until it is pointed out to by an outsider. What can be an impossible mystery to one; a message in a bottle lost in the ocean, can be as simple as another peering into a looking glass and perceiving all. Once the message is discovered, one may soon come to the realization that this was meant to be all along; they probably wonder why they didn’t think of it themselves. Although it took myself awhile to come to this realization, though to be honest, it was the influence of others that turned the light on, I have come to terms with the probable fact that I am meant to be a writer, a master of words with a comprehension that allows myself to see what is not clear to others and express truth with words that are distinct and certain. I write because my identity is that of a scribe, stories that open locked doors are my passion, and inspiration to reveal truth is my goal.

A person’s identity, their character, is what makes them special and unique, separate from the rest of the world, yet still a part of it, creating a beautiful harmony of different voices that whence combined create a complete choir, just what it ought to be. My identity, my character is that of an observer, one who sees and thus perceives the outside world and consumes it as to better understand it. Most times I cannot even comprehend the intricacies of humanity, for it is lost in a sea of bewilderment that is clouded over by the complex storms of life that seem to surround only you, that is until I write it down, and then I am all the better to fathom the depths and thus articulate and express it to others. “But you have God-blessed eyes—eyes that see! And God-blessed ears—ears that hear!” (BibleGateway) This is not to say that I see or understand ideas better than anyone else, however, I wish to be the one who directs the light that some people are shaded from. I believe I was given an opportunity to understand based on what I see and hear.

While trying to figure out my identity, thus what course of action I should do, as far as planning out my whole life by picking what kind of major I should pick for college, I was given great guidance and was enthralled by the words of wisdom my guidance counselor gave to me. He expressed that, in a time where truth is free and attainable, however only if one seeks it, I should share my experience and views about the world. I have thus started a blog and have been sharing my thoughts on a multitude of different subjects. I have been told that I have a way of expressing and making people think differently on a view when I write, that is what I wish to do. I wish to create a bridge of thinking and understanding differently than what we were once accustomed to. I recently took a personality test that, once explained to me, showed me that being a scribbler is what I’m meant to do, for my scores were that of an INFJ. This score means that my identity is one that perceives the outside world and draws it inside for comprehension, identifies possible futures based on truths, values the emotions of humanity, and organizes these perceptions into something that’s permanent as to make sense of the world, which in my case is writing it down. This is who I am meant to be for, “What we write down when away, we do when present. We’re the exact same people, absent or present, in letter or in person” (BibleGateway). I wish to clear away the fog from the mysteries of life that baffles us and teach lessons about the human condition, which is the purpose of telling stories.

Stories are lessons of the future because of what has happened in the past, they open the locked doors of our minds that contain the truth of existence. Since I was but very small, I have always relished all forms of stories. Once one may have thought myself a couch potato, however they would be wrong, for I am as a swan, appearing to delicately caress the glassy pool, seeming to glide without a care in the world, however, once looking beneath the surface, one would see that the beast is actually performing quite strenuous labor to keep afloat and get from location to location. In this way, when I am watching a movie or show, as well as reading books, I am not merely viewing figures on a screen saying words scripted to them and expressing cold emotion they were forced to portray, my mind is filled with constellations exploding into thoughts and feelings. When I discover a good story, my mind is constantly analyzing and seeking out truth as to use it for its relevance to our world. I do this because “One’s ideas must be as broad as nature if they are to interpret nature” (A quote from A Study in Scarlet). All stories have their lessons for humanity, whether it be fantasy, science fiction, adventure, mystery, drama or animation. Whether the story seems realistic or not, they will all teach something of importance that humanity has never thought of before, for “Life is infinitely stranger than anything which the mind of man could invent” (A quote from The Complete Adventures of Sherlock Holmes). In this way I wish to write, to write stories and create characters that teach the truth, a truth that will set us all free.

The stories and characters in those stories are what I believe to be the reason why I wish to analyze truth and write about it. The best characters are the ones who are cast as the underdog, the one down on his luck, the one most broken and incomplete. Those are the characters that have to fight and stretch for a life that is just out of reach. Those are the ones whom “Out of suffering have emerged the strongest of souls; the most massive characters are seared with scars” (Khalil Gibran Quotes). This is why I adore good writing where it teaches the importance of not misconstruing ideas based on mere appearance but to look beyond what you see so that you can appreciate the reality of true nature. For even though those underdogs may have done horrible things to survive, they have the wonderful chance of something better than just being born with good fortune, they get to redeem themselves. “The greater the struggle, the more glorious the triumph!” (A quote by Nick Vujicic). It is my passion to use stories to help people strive, just like my favorite quote from Lord of the Rings when Samwise speaks about the impact of stories told to children when they were young. Sam speaks of how much darkness there is in the world, and when it seems there is no hope, you discover that the dark is only a shadow that will eventually fade and a new day will come. Sam’s main message was that even though there is darkness in the world, there is and always will be good to balance it out and for that very reason we should keep fighting for what’s right. This is why I love story’s and why they are so inspirational in my life to seek truth.

Through writing, one is able to reveal truth through inspiration, even when one is not looking for it. I wish to use my writing to do this for anyone that will read and be open to all the possibilities of existence. I have been inspired mostly by those who write books and for characters in media. A huge inspiration in my desire to write would be due to the readings of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. His writings have inspired my way of analyzing situations and understanding people. I often joke that I live vicariously through books, television and movies and I believe the reason for that would be that “I abhor the dull routine of existence. I crave for mental exaltation” (Arthur Conan Doyle). I crave the obscurities of existence; the phenomenon’s once feared because the path went untraveled. I want to seek truth and use it to inspire people.

The truth will set you and all of us free. “I was born and entered the world so that I could witness to the truth. Everyone who cares for truth, who has any feeling for the truth, recognizes my voice.” John 18:37/ The Message. I want to seek and write about truth. Truth is not malleable, it does not change however, truth is all around us, it comes from all corners of creation and is told in different and unique ways and it is all still truth. “It is important to draw wisdom from different places. If you take it from only one place it become rigid and stale” (Uncle Iroh (Character)). Wisdom comes from truth and truth is found all over existence, if one is open to excepting it. I desire to reveal the truth through my writings.

My story that I wish to share is a continuing process that I will endeavor to tell. The way I will tell my story is through words, words that reveal truth. Robin Williams once said that “No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change the world” (Robin Williams Quotes). I will continue to write my story with the words that begin to flow. My story will not be of the commonplace but with the complexities of existence. I will write because I identify as a writer of words, stories are what makes humanity fly, and I will reveal truth to be an inspiration in others.

 

Works Cited

“Arthur Conan Doyle.” Iz Quotes. N.p., n.d. Web. 17 Mar. 2017.

http://izquotes.com/quote/52929.

“A quote by Nick Vujicic.” Goodreads. N.p., n.d. Web. 17 Mar. 2017.

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/769235-the-greater-the-struggle-the-more-glorious-the-triumph.

“A quote from A Study in Scarlet.” Goodreads. N.p., n.d. Web. 17 Mar. 2017.

http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/326274-one-s-ideas-must-be-as-broad-as-nature-if-they.

“A quote from The Complete Adventures of Sherlock Holmes.” Goodreads. N.p., n.d. Web. 17

Mar. 2017. http://www.goodreads.com/quotes/99039-life-is-infinitely-stranger-than-anything-which-the-mind-of.

“BibleGateway.” Matthew 13:16-17 MSG – – Bible Gateway. N.p., n.d. Web. 17 Mar. 2017.

https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Matthew%2B13%3A16-17&version=MSG.

“BibleGateway.” 2 Corinthians 10:11-14 MSG – – Bible Gateway. N.p., n.d. Web. 17 Mar. 2017.

https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=2%2BCorinthians%2B10%3A11-14&version=MSG.

“Khalil Gibran Quotes.” BrainyQuote. Xplore, n.d. Web. 17 Mar. 2017.

https://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/k/khalilgibr386848.html.

“Robin Williams Quotes.” BrainyQuote. Xplore, n.d. Web. 17 Mar. 2017.

https://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/r/robinwilli383827.html.

“Uncle Iroh (Character).” IMDb. IMDb.com, n.d. Web. 17 Mar. 2017.

http://www.imdb.com/character/ch0046909/quotes.

Leave a Reply

